Shared Earth Foundation Award for Advocacy

Established for the 2014 Festival as Documentary Award for Environmental Advocacy, The Shared Earth Foundation Award for Advocacy recognizes a film that best inspires advocacy in response to a compelling environmental challenge. The award includes a $10,000 cash prize.


2020 Winner



The Okavango in Southern Africa’s Botswana is one of the greatest rivers on Earth. It starts in the mountains of Angola, but unlike normal rivers, its waters don’t run toward the ocean. Instead, the Okavango flows inland through Angola and into Botswana — only to vanish completely in the Kalahari desert, after a journey of 1,500 kilometers. Lions and leopards, elephants and hippos, warthogs and crocodiles, painted dogs, bush babies, and many more, all thrive and survive here. Filmmakers Dereck and Beverly Joubert have created an utterly breathtaking example of visual storytelling with rich clarity. Each dazzling closeup of the exotic flora and fauna is truly remarkable, as is the narration by Dereck Joubert himself, accompanying the stunning images.


DIRECTOR: Dereck and Beverly Joubert

(Botswana, 2020, 94 min.)


Past Winners


2019. Sharkwater Extinction (Canada, 2018, 87 min.), Directed by Rob Stewart.

2018Game Changers (USA, 2018, 88 min.), Directed by Louie Psihoyos.

2017Before the Flood, (USA, 2016, 96 min.), Directed by Fisher Stevens.

2016How to Let Go of the World, (USA, 2016, 125 min), Directed by Josh Fox.

2015Racing Extinction, (USA, 2015, 90 min.), Directed by Louie Psihoyos.

2014Damnation, (USA, 2014, 94 min.), Directed by Travis Rummel and Ben Knight.