Eric Moe Award

For Best Short on Sustainability

2022 Winner Breaking Trail

Director: Jesse Roesler (US, 2021, 30mins)

Emily Ford sets out with Diggins, a borrowed Alaskan Husky sled dog, to become the first woman and person of color to thru-hike the 1,200-mile Ice Age Trail in winter. As the 69-day journey through subzero temperatures tests her physical and mental endurance, Emily and her canine protector develop an unbreakable bond as they embrace the unexpected kindness of strangers and discover they’ve become figureheads in the movement to make the outdoors more accessible for everyone. What begins as an extraordinary physical and mental challenge also becomes a spiritual adventure.

See Award Details

Shared Earth Foundation Award

For Advocacy

2022 Winner Tigre Gente

Director: Elizabeth Unger (US, 2021, 86mins)

A Bolivian park ranger and a young Hong Kongese journalist risk their lives to investigate a new, deadly jaguar trade that’s sweeping South America. Along the way, they grapple with questions of empathy, responsibility, and bridging a cultural gap to prevent the jaguar trade from spiraling out of control.

See Award Details

William W. Warner Beautiful Swimmers Award

For Reflecting a Spirit of Reverence for the Natural World

2022 Winner Beans

Director: Tracey Deer (US, 2020, 92mins)

Twelve-year-old Beans is forced to grow up fast during an Indigenous uprising which tore Quebec apart during the summer of 1990.

See Award Details

DCEFF Audience Award

for Best Feature Film

2022 Winner Exposure

Director: Holly Morris (US, 2021, 88mins)

An expedition of women from East and West has set an audacious goal of skiing to the North Pole. Braving threats of all kinds, they navigate terrain that has become increasingly dangerous due to climate change.

See Award Details

DCEFF Audience Award

for Best Short Film

2022 Winner Camp Yoshi

Director: Faith Briggs (US, 2021, 10mins)

After moving to Oregon and falling in love with the ability to explore the outdoors with ease with his wife and two kids, Rashad Frazier created Camp Yoshi, a space for Black people and allies to unplug and reconnect with the wilderness.

See Award Details

The Flo Stone & Roger D. Stone Award

For Outstanding Artistry in Filmmaking

2022 Winner Fire of Love

Director: Sara Dosa (US, 2021, 93mins)

Katia and Maurice Krafft loved two things — each other and volcanoes. For two decades, the daring French volcanologist couple roamed the planet, chasing eruptions, documenting their discoveries.

See Award Details

The DCEFF Environmental Champion Award

2022 Winner Dr. Jane Goodall

Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE, Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute (JGI) and UN Messenger of Peace, is a world-renowned ethologist and activist inspiring greater understanding and action on behalf of the natural world. Dr. Goodall is known for groundbreaking studies of wild chimpanzees in Gombe Stream National Park, Tanzania, which forever changed our understanding of our relationship to the animal kingdom – helping to open the door to a more empathetic balance between our shared needs. Today, Jane continues to connect with worldwide audiences, despite the challenges of the pandemic, through ‘Virtual Jane’ including remote lectures, recordings, and her podcast, the “Jane Goodall Hopecast”.

See Award Details

Polly Krakora Award

For Artistry in Film

2019 Winner Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

(CA, 2018, 87mins)

High-end production values and state-of-the-art camera techniques capture evidence of human planetary domination. At the intersection of art and science, this film bears witness to a critical moment in geological history.

See Award Details

Hausman Foundation for the Environment Award

for Best International Film

2020 Winner Sea of Shadows

Director: Richard Ladkani (AT, 2019, 104mins)

Follows a team of dedicated scientists, high-tech conservationists, investigative journalists, and courageous undercover agents as well as the Mexican navy as they put their lives on the line to save the last remaining vaquitas.

See Award Details