Eric Moe Award for Best Short on Sustainability

Established for the 2014 Festival by Julia and Richard Moe in memory of their son, Eric, to honor his strong interest in film and his commitment to sustainability, the Eric Moe Award for Best Short on Sustainability recognizes a short film for its inventive solutions to balancing the needs of humans and nature.  The award includes a $5,000 cash prize.

2017 Winner



(Canada/Tanzania, 2016, 79 min.)

Directed by Craig Norris.

Read more about this film here.

2016 Winner



Bluebird Man

(USA, 2014, 28 min)

Directed by Matthew Podolosky

2015 Winner


Silent River

(USA, 2014, 25 min.)

Directed by Jason Jaacks and Steve Fisher. Produced by Steve Fisher.

Finalists: Reaching Blue, directed by Ian Hinkle and produced by Ian Hinkle and Andy Robertson; and Seeding a Dream, directed and produced by Bridget Besaw.


Washington, DC Premiere & Award Presentation

at the National Geographic Society

2014 Winner


Amazing Grace

(Zambia/South Africa, 2012, 5 min.)

Directed by Rowan Pybus.

Finalists: Field Chronicles: Chingaza – The Water’s Journey directed by  Peter Stonier, John Martin, Becca Field and Sebastian Perry and produced by the Conservation International Visual Storytelling Alliance; Good Habits in 60 Seconds directed by Marlon Tenório; HOPE? directed by Simone Giampaolo; Ordinary Life directed by Tomoya Nakamura and Shoki Watanabe; and The Silkies of Madagascar directed by David Evans.