Eric Moe Award for Best Short on Sustainability

Established for the 2014 Festival by Julia and Richard Moe in memory of their son, Eric, to honor his strong interest in film and his commitment to sustainability, the Eric Moe Award for Best Short on Sustainability recognizes a short film for its inventive solutions to balancing the needs of humans and nature.  The award includes a $5,000 cash prize.



2019 Winner



As Singapore dredges sand out from beneath Cambodia’s mangrove forests, the threat of erasure looms over an ecosystem, a communal way of life, and one woman’s relationship to her beloved home.


DIRECTOR: Kalyanee Mam

(USA, 2018, 16 min.)




Past Winners


2018. Water Warriors, (USA, 2017, 22 min), Directed by Michael Premo

2017. Kokota(Canada/Tanzania, 2016, 29 min), Directed by Craig Norris.

2016. Bluebird Man, (USA, 2014, 28 min), Directed by Matthew Podolosky

2015. Silent River, (USA, 2014, 25 min), Directed by Jason Jaacks and Steve Fisher. Produced by Steve Fisher.

2014. Amazing Grace, (Zambia/South Africa, 2012, 5 min), Directed by Rowan Pybus.