Polly Krakora Award For Artistry in Film

Established in 2010 by Joseph Krakora in memory of his wife Polly Krakora, a member of our Advisory Council, the Polly Krakora Award for Artistry in Film Award recognizes creative value in all aspects of filmmaking. The award includes a $5,000 cash prize.


2018 Winner

FIVE SEASONS: The Gardens of Piet Oudolf

Piet Oudolf is the most influential landscape designer of the last 50 years. The film is a wandering journey, visiting many of his iconic works, including his garden in Holland, the Highline in New York, and the great public works in Chicago, the UK, as well as far-flung sources of inspiration, from German industrial parks to the thick woods of Pennsylvania and a Texas wildflower explosion Piet now refers to as his masterpiece — the 7,000 square meters public garden for the art gallery Hauser & Wirth Somerset.

DIRECTOR: Thomas Piper

(USA, 2017, 75 min.)


Past Winners



2017. Seasons, (France, 2015, 95 min), Directed by Jacques Cluzaud and Jacques Perrin.

2016. The Birth of Saké, (Japan, 2015, 94 min), Directed by Erik Shirai.

2015. Monsoon, (France, 2014, 106 min.), Directed by Sturla Gunnarsson.

2014. Harmony, (United States, 2012, 90 min.), Directed by Stuart Sender.



2013. Once Upon A Forest, (France, 2013, 78 min.), Directed by Luc Jacquet.

2012. The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom, (United Kingdom, 2011, 40 min.), Directed by Lucy Walker.

2011. Oil Rocks: City Above the Sea, (Switzerland / Azerbaijan, 2009, 52 min.), Directed by Marc Wolfensberger.

2010. The Music Tree, (Brazil, 2009, 78 min.), Directed by Otavio Juliano.