Eric Moe Sustainability Film Award

The Eric Moe Sustainability Film Award is co-presented by the National Wildlife Federation.

Established for the 2014 Festival by Julia and Richard Moe in memory of their son, Eric, to honor his strong interest in film and his commitment to sustainability, this award recognizes a short film for its inventive solutions to balancing the needs of humans and nature. The award includes a $5,000 cash prize.

Award winner Bluebird Man, directed by Neil Paprocki and Matthew Podolosky, will screen at the Carnegie Institution for Science, followed by the two finalists El Cacao and Moving the Giants. All three films are DC premieres. Moving the Giants will be introduced by its producer, Ted WoodEl Cacao will be introduced by Greg McGruder, Vice President for Public Programs, National Geographic Society.

Following the screenings, the subject of the winning film, self-taught conservationist “Bluebird Man” Al Larson joins a discussion, alongside its co-director, Matthew Podolsky, and editor, Emily Bender, moderated by Greg McGruder.

At 92, Larson has dedicated 35 years of his life to saving North America’s bluebirds by maintaining a network of over 300 “nestboxes” in the highlands of Idaho that provide vital support to a recovering population. We’re thrilled that Larson will be at the screening in person to answer questions.

El Cacao, directed by Michelle Aguilar follows an indigenous cacao farmer in the rainforest of Panama’s Bocas del Toro to reveal the hidden inequalities in chocolate product and the meaning of “Fair Trade.” In the Michael Ramsey directed Moving Giants, an arborist’s near-death experience causes him to realize what he has to do to combat climate change: migrate the California coast redwoods – some of nature’s most prolific recyclers of CO2.

 March 17, 7:00 pm – Carnegie Institution for Science

* Tickets, $10. Purchase tickets here.


Films showing as part of this event

Ted Wood, Michael Ramsey, 11 mins
Michelle Aguilar, 19 mins
Matthew Podolsky, Neil Paprocki, Emily Bender, Al Larson, Greg McGruder, 28 mins