William W. Warner Beautiful Swimmers Award

Established in memory of William Warner by the Warner/Kaempfer family for the 2015 Festival, the William W. Warner Beautiful Swimmers Award recognizes a film that reflects a spirit of reverence for the natural world. William Warner was the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Beautiful Swimmers, a study of crabs and watermen in the Chesapeake Bay. The award includes a $10,000 cash prize.


2017 Winner


 The Lost City of Z

(USA, 2017, 142 min.)

Directed by James Gray.

Read more about this film here.

2016 Winner


The Seer


The Seer

(USA, 2016, 76 min)

Directed by Laura Dunn





2015 Winner


Tiger Tiger

(USA, 2015, 90 min.)

Directed by George Butler.


Washington, DC Premiere

Award Presentation