Polly Krakora Award For Artistry in Film

Established in 2010 by Joseph Krakora in memory of his wife Polly Krakora, a member of our Advisory Council, the Polly Krakora Award for Artistry in Film Award recognizes creative value in all aspects of filmmaking. The award includes a $5,000 cash prize.

2017 Winner

Les Dombes


(France, 2015, 95 min.)

Directed by Jacques Cluzaud and Jacques Perrin.

Read more about this film here.

2016 Winner

 Birth of Sake


The Birth of Saké

(Japan, 2015, 94 min)

Directed by Erik Shirai




2015 Winner



(France, 2014, 106 min.)

 Directed by Sturla Gunnarsson.

Produced by Ina Fichman, Luc Martin-Gousset.

Washington, DC Premiere


Award Presentation

at the National Museum of Natural History


2014 Winner


Once Upon A Forest

(France, 2013, 78 min.)

Directed by Luc Jacquet. Produced by Yves Darondeau,

Christopher Lioud and Emmanuel Priou.


2013 Winner



(United States, 2012, 90 min.)

Directed by Stuart Sender.

Produced by Julie Bergman Sender and Stuart Sender, Balcony Films.


2012 Winner


The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom

(United Kingdom, 2011, 40 min.)

Directed by Lucy Walker.

Produced by Lucy Walker and Kira Carstensen.


2011 Winner

Oil and Rocks-thumbnail

Oil Rocks: City Above the Sea

(Switzerland / Azerbaijan, 2009, 52 min.)

Directed by Marc Wolfensberger.

Produced by Intermezzo Films and Thin Line Productions.


2010 Winner


The Music Tree

(Brazil, 2009, 78 min.)

Directed by Otavio Juliano. Produced by Luciana Ferraz and Rogerio Ribeiro.